Author Topic: A question about German language in the books.  (Read 5682 times)

Eva

A question about German language in the books.
« on: September 24, 2007, 10:05:12 am »
Dear Patty,

thank you so much for writing such wonderful books! I love them all very much and hope you'll write many many more.

I'd love to offer my help in case you have any more German stuff in any of your books, because I'm German (even living in Germany) and a translator by profession. (You would not need to pay me anything though!) If you would like me to check anything or research something to do with Germany, for example in order to flesh out Zee's character more, please let me know. I'd be really happy if I could be of some help to one of my favorite authors.

Love,

Eva
« Last Edit: January 21, 2012, 09:31:47 pm by Elle »

Mike Briggs

• Administrator
  • Auto-Zauberer
Re: German bits in the novels
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2007, 06:14:51 am »
Hey guys, Mike here.
Sorry, Patty's STILL slammed trying to get "Cry Wolf" edited to her liking (I'll try to post more about that on the Hurog.com home page today), and she's even further behind than usual with emails  :(   

Patty made a "tactical error" with the German.  She has a bachelors degree in German, which she earned many years ago.  She majored in German because it was the first class she took that she didn't get an "A" in, and she was too stubborn to admit defeat.  Languages are really difficult to learn in a couple of hours a day of formal training, and most of the other students had spent months or years in Germany.  It says something about Patty that rather than giving up, she continued to take classes in a subject that didn't come naturally to her until she ended up getting a degree in it :P