Author Topic: Question about Mercy's dojo scene in Bone Crossed.  (Read 6259 times)

tellner

Question about Mercy's dojo scene in Bone Crossed.
« on: August 03, 2009, 01:19:55 am »
I understand that the Mercy Thompson books are fantasy. They deal with things that aren't real and probably never could be real. That said, when they address real-world topics they should deal with them in a realistic fashion. To do otherwise detracts from the quality of the story. And I really liked this book.

Our Beloved Authoress really screwed up that way in the dojo scene in Bone Crossed. It's pretty obvious what she was trying to do. We were supposed to see Mercy tough, in control and dealing with her trauma in a constructive - or at least not self-destructive way. We were supposed to see a guy who didn't like gals get his. Everyone cheers. Recovery proceeds.

Unfortunately, Ms. Briggs stepped outside the bounds of believability.

I've been doing martial arts for about thirty years. I first taught close to twenty years ago and ran women's self defense classes for about a decade. Worked on the rape crisis line for a while. And a few other related things. So please believe me when I say that the scene was completely unrealistic.

The teacher knew what had happened to his student and that it was particularly unpleasant and very recent. No responsible martial arts instructor would allow a student in that situation to spar a week or two post-event. If by some freak chance he or she did it would be very carefully controlled work with the head of the dojo or an extremely senior instructor of unquestioned character and sensitivity. There is no way a rape survivor who had killed in self defense so recently that she was still having panic attacks every couple hours would be tossed in with a guy with control problems and a bad attitude about women. It just wouldn't happen under a sensei with any sort of teaching skills.